Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Alice Springs or bust

    May 3, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    As I looked out the window of the plane at our red centre, it looked very red, dry, no signs of life – I’m sure there was but it wasn't obvious up there. Beautiful sunny clear sky, no pollution, just whisps of cloud and the infinite horizon. You tend to forget just how vast Australia is.

    Alice Springs is a small frontier town with not much going for it but it's stunning location in the centre of Australia. I didn't think I'd see this day after 2 failed attempts last year but I couldn't wipe the smile of my face as we disembarked on a glorious warm day.

    The town was quiet, many of the shops were closed, not just because it was Sunday but they are struggling to find staff, some of them just haven't been able to continue.

    The Doubletree Hilton turned out to be a bit out of town and a little tattered around the edges but it's clean, comfortable and set in a lovely spot across from a dry Todd River. I was just so happy to finally make it! Can't wait to start walking.
    Read more