Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Tbilisi

    August 16, 2022 in Georgia ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    Passing from one country to another was relatively painless and quick. What struck me straight away is how dry the countryside was as we headed into the inferno that is Tbilisi.

    It’s hot – especially in the afternoons and early evening. I wasn’t prepared for it to be in the high 30’s here. Thank goodness over the next few days we head towards the mountains and much cooler temperatures.

    Our hotel is a small modern boutique one placed in the old town so we’re surrounded by history and this amazing mix of Georgian and Russian architecture with a bit of Baroque and Rococo thrown in. It means wooden balconies, pastel colours and cobblestones, a contrast to the Soviet mega buildings scattered throughout the city.

    The traffic is constant, it’s a noisy, and busy city, full of tourists.

    There’s lots to see here. When I get back at the end of the hiking I'll have a couple of days to explore more of the city before I come home.

    Georgia feels very different to Armenia so I’m looking forward to getting out seeing more of it.
    Read more