Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Same same but different

    June 29, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Finally made it to Reykjavik feeling like the living dead after 27 hours. The city is familiar but not the same, busy and rowdier, not the quiet town I first visited 5 years ago.

    The airport at Reykjavik was humming, very busy with lots of flights coming and lots going out – heaps from the U.S. and UK. The landscape between Keflavik airport and Reykjavik is bleak at the best of time because of the dark volcanic rock. The only dash of colour in the grey sky and ocean were the darting arctic terns diving down into their nests in the grass.

    It was much colder than expected, probably only around 4 or 5 degrees – brr. I needed my big coat. Despite the cold, the town is buzzing with tourists. Quite a lot of older people here, probably the only ones who can afford it. I was shocked – prices are at least 50% higher than when I was here last in 2018.

    My next post will be after the hike – no phone, no internet, it will be really nice to have no technology for 6 days.
    Read more