Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Walking the Wall, but not yet

    July 16, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌬 19 °C

    I know I’ve been a bit quiet since I got to the UK but I haven’t done any serious walking, until today. Supposedly 25km, it felt a lot longer. Hard surfaces, fighting a headwind along the River Tyne, it was hard work even if it was flat.

    There’s not much of the wall to see on the first day from Wallsend to Wylam (I’m in a small village a bit off the path) in the most beautiful old guest house with high ceilings and in an enormous room. These places are destinations on their own. I love it.

    Anyway, let’s hope tomorrow is a little easier, 15km and there will actually be some of the wall along the trail.

    I really enjoyed my time in Newcastle. I had no idea how beautiful the old Georgian buildings were. Unlike so many other countries, they’ve been preserved and I was staying just off Grey Street, voted the best street in the UK.

    It was busy, last week was graduation week so parents and their offspring were out on the town celebrating. I spent the last couple of days at Whitley Bay right near the ocean. Crazy people swimming in water that was only 13C. It was not warm.

    I spent yesterday at the Roman Forts – got drenched 3 times, thunder, lightning, hail, you name it, the weather gods threw it all at me. Thank goodness today was dry. The museums so far have been exceptional. I hope there will be more to see on the way.

    I think tonight will be an early one. All of me aches, it was a tiring day. Pizza for dinner and an early night.
    Read more