Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Ho Chi Minh City 4

    July 5, 2018 in Hong Kong ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    I headed out early yesterday morning to drop off enough laundry to carry us through to the end of our vacation. Walking in Ho Chi Minh City with a plastic bag stuffed with dirty laundry makes you a very popular person. Suddenly there were a number of individuals who seem to provide laundry services, offering to wash our clothes for “cheap cheap”. I had a specific place in mind to go and stuck to my plan, clutching my plastic bag of funk tighter before someone tried to yank it away. Braeden was up even earlier as he had to register for his courses next year at 4:00 am Vietnam time.

    Yesterday was a bit of a nothing day. We had intended to spend a day during our time in Ho Chi Minh City taking a tour out to the Mekong Delta. That was the plan, but we had reached our saturation point and the thought of driving a couple hours out to the delta, touring around, and then driving back didn’t really appeal to us.

    After a long, lingering breakfast at a bakery, due to the presence of a sudden rain and wind storm, the boys and I headed over to the Reunification Palace for a tour. This was the home/workplace of the President of South Vietnam during the Vietnam War and the site where a North Vietnamese army tank crashed through the gates during the fall of Saigon in April 1975, ending the war. The palace is a huge building, a total of 215,000 sq ft, complete with banquet halls, a bunker, multiple apartments for underlings, and a shooting range complete with pictures of Viet Cong for targets.

    It was interesting enough and we spent a couple hours there, then found a cafe to cool off and have some cold drinks. Prior to receiving our drinks we were offered some cold tea. The tea looked like dish water and tasted of dirt and cigarettes. We found out it was artichoke tea, made with the stalk and leaves, and there are supposedly a number of health benefits to drinking it. I think I’ll stick to my belief that beer, bacon, and butter provide me with all the health benefits I need.

    Dinner was the same as the previous night and just as good, although we went a little crazy and spent about $5 more on food - big spenders we are, but you only live once. Today we fly out to Hong Kong (hello my favourite bitchy waitresses, we’re coming back for a visit!) before heading home on Saturday

    Final thoughts on Vietnam:

    We knew it would be hot and thought we were prepared for it, but nothing can ready you for the humidity here. Vietnam was going through a heat wave when we first arrived so it made for some very uncomfortable days. If I were to come back (unlikely) I would avoid the summer months and visit at a time when touring is more manageable.

    I am glad we came here as it provided us with some eye opening, unforgettable experiences, but I didn’t see or do anything that would draw me back again for a second visit. The Ha Long Bay cruise was very nice and a must do for visitors. Time spent at the beach was the perfect short respite from the heat, noise and general craziness of the city. And the motorcycle tour was a thrilling and worthwhile adventure. Apparently only 5% of visitors to Vietnam ever return, and I understand why. It’s raw, and gritty, and loud, and chaotic - non stop. A worthwhile experience, but for me anyway, once was enough.

    And finally a big shout out to Braeden for his A+ navigation skills in getting us to where we wanted to go, for checking us in online for all our flights, and for filling in all our customs declaration forms. To Keegan for keeping it light, making us laugh, and his nose for good food, and to Nat for planning and booking flights, hotels, cars and excursions. All I had to do was write this silly blog, so I got off easy.
    Read more