Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Brenda's Sydney 6

    October 19, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    As I am about to leave Sydney, I get to look back on some moments of this part of our trip that made me very happy, and also those that did not.

    Starting w/ LOWLIGHTS:
    1. Our flight delays causing us to miss our Sydney connection on original departure day—consequently missing a full day of our trip, and some money at lodging.

    2. When I found out my 350,000 point frequent flyer business class seat to Sydney was broken and wouldn’t recline to a bed. 😖

    3. Forgetting the Sydney map 🗺 on our first trip into city. We got a bit off course and frustrated.

    4. Not keeping up with drinking enough water. 💧Sometimes it is because I can’t take enough with me on our daily trips. Other times it’s because I don’t want to have to pee at inopportune times of the trip.

    5. Schnitzel is huge here so had to try it. Hugely disappointing.

    6. Not eating great or getting regular workouts. Despite us getting well over 10,000 steps each day, I still feel like I could sometimes do better to eat better.

    Ending on HIGHLIGHTS:
    1. Just being able to be privileged enough to come on this trip at all, and to come with my best friend (David 💑...not Beber). So many people never get such an opportunity!

    2. Jacques, United flight rep who worked with us on Wed to get us BOTH on same flight to Sydney the next day, rather than separately or on Sat.

    3. Our tour to Blue Mountains ⛰. I really enjoyed our tour guide, Robert. He remembered everyone’s name, and was very funny and knowledgeable. I Loved ❤️ the animals at Featherdale Wildlife Park. The baby koala 🐨 on mom’s back was the highlight. I could have stayed there another hour or two.

    4. The birds. 🐦 The sounds of the different birds just out and about are cool. You definitely feel like you are in a different country. Didn’t get any pics of the huge cockatoos flying freely. They sound so loud and massive, like pterodactyls. This is their magpie, which are everywhere and very striking, also they have some interesting calls.

    5. The Taronga Zoo. 🐅🦍 🐊🐘Had a great time here seeing a live platypus for the first time. They are smaller than I thought. The best of the zoo was the Bird Show 🦉 and the surreal view of the city from the seating area. Rather cool to have birds flying through the audience— really got a good look at them. The whole experience rather moved me and got me a little teary-eyed.

    6. Just soaking up the culture. Been enjoying people watching and looking at stores and tv. Interesting to me is that I think I see more smokers here; many people jay walk; and there are of course great local terms for things like ‘Brekkie’ for breakfast and ‘Dunny’ for toilet. My fav bit of Aussie culture by far is Skippy the Bush Kangaroo, if you haven’t yet...go to that specific day when we blogged about him and watch the You Tube link.
    Read more