Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    The first of 5 sea days

    January 11, North Pacific Ocean ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    What do we do on sea days? I thought they would be leisurely so I downloaded lots of books. But I found there was so much activity on the ship that I haven't read any of them. There are enrichment lectures with well informed experts, music of many types, art exhibits with discussions, baggo tournaments ( Bill says they are called corn holing in the midwest), bridge, crafting instructors, dance instructors and of course food.

    Today I started my day with a wildlife watch with the naturalist on the 7th floor aft area. It was overcast and windy. We saw 3 birds of unknown identity. Guess the wildlife didn't like the weather either.
    Marie Comte-Helm, historian, gave an overview of European explorers interfacing with settlers in the South Pacific. Russell Lee gave a high energy history behind Jules Vernes book "Around the World in 80 Days." Then an overview of different types of whales. Finally dinner at the captains table.
    Read more