Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    More than 2 weeks gone

    August 14, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    We’ll it’s now Saturday morning here, and all very peaceful. Cami stayed overnight with a friend last night, and hasn’t surfaced here yet. We have only glimpsed her this week anyway, as she is busy catching up with friends, and fitting in some work she has to do for school, which starts after the summer break next week, and I think college applications, for which it seems they have to write extensive essays!

    Amr has taken a bus to the mall to go to the Amazon store there as his kindle keeps saying he needs a new battery, and Nico and I are peacefully here minding the house. I am making a lasagna for Michael and Lisi’s homecoming dinner (at request). Nico has had his morning walk so he is content except for the worry of the mailman who he barks at daily. Walking Nico twice a day means ascending this VERY steep hill each time, plus again when I go for my own walk!! Good practice at hills, but this one in their street is very extreme.

    Nothing really to report from the last few days. Michael and Lisi in Canada and having a great time at Whistler and last night in Vancouver. Now waiting to board their plane home. Arrive here about 3.30pm. Yesterday we went to another movie!! This time it was good, and we enjoyed it as well as the comfortable chairs! It was Respect, a film about Aretha Franklin. Well done, though quite long. It has been very hot these last few days. No morning fog to start the day, but straight into searing sun, and walking up and down to the village (only about 3.5 km) a very sweaty business. I think I’ll skip my walk today, and do some yoga poses instead. I must do something about my hair…it was long before I left and overdue for a cut, but of course hairdressers closed…am a bit intimidated by the thought of a La Jolla hairdresser, but the alternative is managing it in French in France…must decide soon as it is driving me mad!

    On Monday James returns, and for the first time we will all be together! I’ll try and find some photos, but not many. One of me doing yoga with Nico watching, but will look on Amr’s iPad for more…
    Read more