Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Out in the world again!

    May 8, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Hurray! I was discharged this morning by the lovely doctor Michelle who has seen me through all this, and a lovely non English speaking surgeon. To my delight they said I could eat anything - that is nothing is forbidden, but just be moderate and not too spicy…etc…so I no longer a patient, and we had a lunch at Amr’s favourite tapas bar and I tasted delicious food at last.. and a little wine. And lots of water…I certainly will be moderate as do NOT want anything to go wrong again.

    It is a beautiful day in Burgos and we walked gently quite a lot (that was part of the instruction too - walk a lot, but not Camino!). It was siesta time most of our walking time, so the city was quiet and so good for me to see it all feeling well. Walked along the beautiful tree-lined path beside the river and sat with kindles for quite a while. Saw pilgrims walking through….life is continuing.

    Amr has booked a bus for us from Burgos (the bus station is conveniently just up the street from our hotel) to León tomorrow at 10.30, and that ride will be our viewing of the meseta. We stay in León 2 nights, another beautiful city, and then get another bus to Hospital de Órbigo (name of town, NOT a hospital!) and from there our old itinerary kicks in. Amr will walk, and I will get bus or whatever transport is available. Looked up the bus from there to the next place and it was a 16 min ride!! I’m actually starting to look forward to this life of swanning from village to village, and I’ll see all the familiar places. Anyway, more of that as it happens.

    I had my first squeezed OJ at the little bar at the hotel…so good. Soon we will set off for dinner.

    Just back from dinner: Amr had the menu del dia, but I just had soup a La Castellana which was more than enough…he had the soup too, and some salmon…now back at 10 pm and the tapas bars are still full and buzzing…surely they don’t go home now for dinner??
    Read more