Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Now at Rabanal del Camino

    May 13, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    A similar dual day. Amr left at about 8.30, and I walked with him to the end of Astorga, another chilly morning, and even chillier here at Rabanal. But beautiful and sparkling, perfect walking weather and I have to say I felt very jealous seeing people setting off…

    Anyway, after Amr left, I walked back and did a circuit of the city via that pretty park on the walls, and when I got to the Plaza Mayor I found that the chess setup was now in action. It is a tournament for school students…one school versus another, lots of activity! The grand final will eventually be held in León. So I wiled away the morning, walking, reading and enjoying the beautiful day. I didn’t have to checkout of the hotel till 12, so I swanned in and out at will, and finally got a taxi here at about 12.45. I could see that Amr was getting close to the end, and the taxi followed the camino all the way along the little road (not a bus route!)…almost felt I was walking it! We must have passed him, but I didn’t see him - maybe when there were bushes between the track and the road…

    When I arrived I saw that Amr was very close, so went down to meet him and we checked in together. We’ve been here twice before too, nice hotel in this tiny village, except no lift, and Amr had to lug the bags up to the second floor…poor thing, after walking 21 kms! Had snacky lunch and will have dinner here - has a good menu and good price. Now relaxing, and Amr unwinding.. we’ve read that there are monks who sing Gregorian chants for vespers every day at 7 which sounds wonderful…will certainly check that out!

    Now back from Vespers and dinner. The little church is XII century Romanesque, very atmospheric, and it was absolutely full, we were glad we were 10 mins early and had a seat. Very peaceful plainsong chanting in Latin by Benedictine monks…very glad we went. Then back for dinner…also good. Amr had a wonderful white bean salad - sort of in a sauce of gazpacho, just delicious, and cod, and I had peppers stuffed with bacalao with an amazing sauce. Happy and ready for bed.
    Read more