Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Finally in Nepal

    April 4, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    I just arrived in Kathmandu and I can already confirm: Nepalese people are the happiest and friendliest ones I've ever met so far. Already on the plane they offered me food and drinks and they didn't accept me saying no (I felt really bad that they as poor people offer me, the "rich" European guy, food and pay for drinks...). Furthermore communication was quiet hard, their English and my Nepalese might be almost on the same level :D. But we managed to do a little bit smalltalk 👍
    The first hours here had been quite hard, as everything is pretty chaotic and new here. Traffic is really crazy, everyone is horning, bikes are squeezing between cars (and pedestrians), but somehow it's working and there are no accidents.
    At least I've got a (almost) clean room and bed, very friendly and helpful stuff (helping me with buying bus and plane tickets) and sometimes there is also electricity :D.
    In the evening I walked through the streets of Thamel, exploring this new world with new interesting smells, lots of shops to buy outdoor equipment (don't know if anything is original :D) and lots of small restaurants.
    Read more