Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Abel Tasman National Park

    March 12, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 34 °C

    There are a lot of firsts on this holiday and today was the day of my first proper hike on the Abel Tasman Coastal Track.

    A watertaxi brought me to Anchorage where I started my hike. I first walked around Pitt Head and to Te Pukatea Bay which is a 1 hour loop back to Anchorage.

    Then I started my way back to Marahau along the coastline of the park. The track section is 13 km long and took me 4 hours to complete. The first part is very steep and hilly but after 45 mins the track levels out and is very nice to walk.

    The amazing thing is that you're mostly walking in the forest with the birds singing like mad to cheer you on. And then you come to places where you can see through the lush green vegetation to see glimpses of little bays and beaches and the turquoise waters underneath you and you can hear the ocean lapping up against the rocks.

    The beaches are easy to reach and are great for little breaks.
    I had my lunch in Apple Tree Bay and enjoyed sitting on the warm sand and dipping my - at that point - slightly sore feet into the water.

    Tomorrow is my first time kayaking. We'll see how that goes, but I was promised see lions... 😆
    Read more