Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Dunedin

    March 20, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Today I drove from Mount Cook to Dunedin. The drive took around 4 hours and I stopped to see the Elephant Rocks which are 5 kms from Duntroon.

    Weather was funny and I had everything from 15° and rainy to 31° and gloriously sunny.

    Once I arrived in Dunedin and had checked into my hostel 'Kiwi's Nest (it's a bit basic but clean which is the main thing), I went out to explore the city.

    I went to see the railway station (loved the glass stained windows and the mosaic on the floors), the Otago Settlers Museum and the Chinese Garden. The museum was great and so informative. It's unbelievable what the first settlers went through to get to this country.

    Dunedin is known for its Scottish and Maori heritage, Victorian and Edwardian architecture and a large student population. The adjoining Otago Peninsula is home to colonies of albatrosses, sea lions and rare yellow-eyed penguins.

    I'll be seeing the penguins tomorrow. So excited! 😆
    Read more