Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 180

    Raglanraglanraglan

    April 1, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    Sooo just a recap on what I remember from the month in Raglan...

    Shannon just came up to me one morning and said 'Hey Paula, you wanna come on a trip to taumarunui with me in liiiike... Five minutes?' so that's what I did, had a nice little road trip, a lot of fun on the flying fox (got a bit competitive there) and two great days with Shannon's dad, sister and auntie. Her aunt is nearly a hundred years old and she broke her ankle because she rode a horse bareback and jumped off of it... crazy. That woman was soooo alive and clear in the head and made dirty jokes and everything, she was such a lovely woman, loved it! 😂

    I visited the Hamilton gardens, loved the structure there. They had multiple little gardens, each one following a different style and design, connected through little pathways. They had Italien, English, Renaissance, abstracte, modern and manymany more. The illusion one was funny, with everything having much bigger proportions and branches of trees that were moving, even though that was poorly made.

    I played some of my songs for the first time in front of more than a handful of people at an open mic night. That was exciting. And I tried getting my surf videos for my surf instructor license but I still didn't get it right. Mel was a huuuge help though! She stood on the beach for hours on end, trying to catch me riding a wave 😂.

    Oh yeah, and before I came to raglan for the second time I saw the huka falls, which are part of the Waikato river. Impressive, definitely. The water looked like the moon pool from 'h2o just add water' hahaaa childhood memories...

    Uuuuh and another thing that happened before, on my way to raglan, I tried the free, natural hotsprings in Taupo. They weren't really hot but pleasantly warm and just a few metres further they were joining in, in the waikoto river. Which is cold, really, really fucking cold🙈 so that was an interesting experience! But what was even nicer, was bathing in the hotsprings at night, without any stupid tourists like me around. Just lying there in warm water, under the stars...
    What a beautiful night<333

    That should be about it...
    Read more