衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日3

    Singapore Airport

    2023年6月11日, シンガポール ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Today was CONSIDERABLY less eventful than even my first day of travel. I was exhausted from all the travel yesterday, and in an attempt to try and conserve energy, I did nothing this morning. A part from getting a coffee and some breakfast, I sat around my accommodation, spoke with other travellers, and got my bag packed for my long flight to Europe. I had to be checked out by 12, and although I could have kept my bag there and wandered, the last thing i needed was to drench myself in sweat in preparation for a 13-hour flight. The journey to the airport did enough of that as is. I was much more excited to wander around Singapore's enourmas (and air-conditioned) airport, window shopping, visiting the jewel, and getting a feed with a few drinks. That being said, I have arrived too early to drop off my bag, and such I am sitting outside check in, waiting for it to open. Given that my flight isn't until 11:40pm and it is currently 2 pm, I may be waiting a while. There are places where you can temporarily store your bag (for a fee), but the one in this terminal is currently closed. I have lost motivation to walk all the way back to terminal 1 just to do the return trip later. When I regain my energy, I will find a trolley wander that way.

    In the end, baggage drop opened a couple hours later, but I still had over 6 hours to kill at the airport. With the freedom of not having a bag anymore, however, I was free to wander around the massive airport and, more importantly, the jewel. It was quite stunning to walk out into a huge glass enclosure with trees all around and an enourmas vortex of water falling through the ceiling. Truly a sight to behold. Surrounded by shopping centres, an avid shopper could spend days at the singapore airport, but given my keen eye on my budget, I kept away. That being said, I did sit down for 2 beers at the top of the jewel while I spoke to my parents. The end bill for 2 pints was close to 50 AUD. I used to think Australian prices were ridiculous. I had planned to continue drinking while I waited for my flight, but my budget had already been blown in those couple of beers - though the view and atmosphere of the place ALMOST made it worth it.

    I just hopped on my flight and am hopeful I can get some good sleep. The view of Singapore from the sky was quite incredible.
    もっと詳しく