Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Support Local Economys

    September 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    After a relatively big night and a rough hangover this morning, I wasn't particularly functional. Other than a small walk through the cities around my hostel, I essentially parked up at the bar and watched the football games that were on, as well as the Formula 1 qualifying. It wasn't until the afternoon in which my hangover had passed, and I had run into some people from the night previous that I found the courage to start drinking again. During our road trip through Albania, Erin, Lewis, and I had joked that we were only drinking because it was so cheap and that it is important that we do our share to support the local economies. Habib told me about Dow Jones Bar, which seemed to turn this into a reality. It is a bar that has a live system for tracking drinks, and those that are popular will rise in price, and those that aren't being bought regularly will drop - simulating the stock market. This makes drinking interesting and forces you to try different drinks. As such, i bought the Long Island ice tea while it was afternoon, and no one was drinking them, thus making them cheal. It was a lot of fun, and after a few drinks here, we headed back to the hostel to partake in the welcome drinks. We once again met people from the night before, as well as some new faces and drank at the hostel for a couple hours. Eventually, we headed to a few clubs before going to one of the major clubs in Barcelona. Unfortunately, I was wearing a football jersey and so wasn't let in. I wasn't too upset as it was quite expensive and already very late. In an attempt to save some money I figured I would ride a bike home, but after walking 15mins to find a bike, only for the thing not to work, I figured I may as well walk the remaining 30mins home. I was quite drunk, and it was about 4am, and so I am unsure how safe / unsafe this was, but i made it home for bed.Read more