Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Granada Markets

    September 11, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I had a very busy day yesterday but still didn't achieve everything that I wanted to in Granada, and as such, I extended my stay to give myself another chance to see the historical part of town. However, given how much I did yesterday, I did give myself a sleep in and a chilled morning to recover as best I can. After this, I began to explore the historical part of town, and it was really cool. It had heaps of markets and was the perfect place to find gifts for the family. Unfortunately, I am at a conundrum given that I have to carry all my gifts on my back for the next 3 months. This heavily impacts the capacity I have to get thoughtful gifts to people, and as such, I am forced to buy things like jewellery and other small trinkets. But I am doing my best to start looking early so I can get good gifts. To make things harder, my parents will also be travelling for a year after I see them at Christmas, so anything I get them also has to be practical for their own travels as well as my own. Making things very difficult. After some shopping, I went off to do the main site for today, the Granada Cathedral. This was much more incredible than I had expected, and even though the outside was massive, you only get to appreciate it once you walk inside. Similar to a lot of cathedrals, it had bright white walls with gold trims and beautiful lighting that showed off the paintings that decorated the walls very effectively. It also came with a free audio tour, which I really appreciated, but it has made me want to understand more about the Christian religion. I have been to countless cathedrals, churches, and basilicas, and each has endless paintings about certain religious events, and I think the experience would be more engaging with a greater understanding of the stories they reference. After this and some more walking around, I headed to San Nicholas' viewpoint to witness the Alhambra at sunset. I was also hoping to purchase a nice oil painting of the Alhambra, but the same lady wasn't there. It is a bit late but I would like to get small paintings and photos of my favourite places to visit. Maybe for the rest of my trip, I will have to try to do this. I didn't get to witness the full sunset, as the dinner my hostel was organising was due to start, and i didn't want to miss out. Nevertheless, the views were incredible, but the crowds were also much greater. This time, while I was up here, the church was open for visitors, and so I popped my head in, and this one was quite unique, not as much grandure but a much more futuristic feel to it. It was cool. Anyway, after this and my poke bowl dinner, I headed to bed.Read more