Satellite
Show on map
  • Istanbul

    September 22, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Today was as uneventful as any travel day, but perhaps even more so. It was the first flight for a while, and I normally prefer to get there early if I have no other plans. As a result, I woke up, ate breakfast, packed my shit, and caught the train to the airport. When I arrived I called my parents while I waited for the flight. Eventually, I could check in, so I dropped off my bag and parked up for a feed and to chill for a bit. Finally, it was time to board, and I jumped on my flight and prepared for a 4 hour journey. Although the flight went alright, getting given, beers, food and coffee, and even falling asleep for a bit, the struggles began once I landed. I had to check in to my hotel at midnight, and with the time difference, which I forgot to consider - again, I was going to be rushed to make it. I landed at 10:30, but by the time I got through customs (which took forever), got my bag, and got to the taxi rank, it was quarter past 11. The main stress really kicked off here as I didn't have much Turkish Lira on my card, and I didn't have any internet to transfer it. Once again, no sim and the airport didn't provide free wifi. So while asking around for costs for a taxi I eventually remembered I could use my Australia bank card to get cash out and pay for the taxi that way, regardless of the conversion fees it was worth it. Luckily, I had money on my card, got my cash, and at 11:20, got in my taxi and began the 40-minute drive. Yes, it takes that long even by taxi, luckily taxis are cheap in Turkey, not that it mattered I would have paid anything. The taxi driver rushed through the town to drop me at my hotel barely 3 minutes before midnight, but ensuring that I made check-in. It was a stressful end to the day, but at least I made it. In fact, I later learnt that the tour actually already bought me an extra nights accommodation the day before the tour starts. I did not know and spent 40 euros on private accommodation because I had to get somewhere close to the starting point. When in reality I could have stayed at the starting point for free...Read more