Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Overnight Bus

    October 6, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Given that we were nursing a stiff hangover and it would be the last day with everyone together, not much really happened. In fact, nothing happened, and the photos reflect it. We played cards for honestly about 3 hours before going for an early dinner and a wander around town. To get us through the bus trip, our tour guide once again rolled a J for some of us, and we enjoyed that before getting on the bus. I made sure to get on early, to sit next to Annie and Sarah, while also securing a single seat and allowing myself some space to sleep. The only way I was going to make it through the trip was by popping a phenergen and hope that it knocked me out. I waited as long as I could to take it to see if I could fall asleep on my own. The answer was that I couldn't. By 11, I decided it was time, and it knocked me out cold. I barely woke up until our 3a.m, 30 minute stop. When we stopped here, we all boarded the bus to get back on the road, but the bus was broken down. We sat around for another 15 minutes or so before Shef took me and a few others out again for another J to survive the final part of the journey. While we were out there, we saw the bus starting to move, and a bit of panic ensued. In the end, it was just people trying to push start the bus. Although it was funny to hear about Sarah panicking inside the bus, thinking a bunch of us were about to be left behind. We eventually had to help them push start the bus and we seemed to make the difference as when we joined the bus got going and was able to finish the journey, with me sleeping most of the way home.Read more