Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Hungary 🇭🇺

    December 21, 2023 in Hungary ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    Today was a day for dragging our heavy bags, waiting on trains, and sitting around our hotel. Although we would arrive in Hungary for the first time, and were eager to see what was on offer, the trek to get to the train station in Vienna, and the subsequent trek to the accommodation in Budapest, zapped us of all our energy.

    We woke up to pack all our belongings and began our hour and a bit walk to the train station. This is quite comfortably the longest I have ever had to walk with my backpacks. I felt every single gram of the ~17kg backpack and every step of the almost 5km walk. By the end, my back was killing me, and I could barely lift my arms above my head. But we arrived. The train gave us some time to recover for a few hours. Unfortunately, once we arrived, we had another extended walk to the hotel. This was admittedly shorter, about 40-45 minutes, but every bit as painful. As such, a well needed break was taken halfway through as my shoulders had not yet fully recovered from the first walk. We enjoyed some nice Asian food, which is surprisingly very prevalent throughout the city. I had a beer to hopefully numb some of my pain and allow me to continue. After another 20 minutes or so, we arrived to literally drop my bags and have a break. Other than this, we went to get some groceries for our week ahead in Hungary and sat around waiting for an appropriate time to head to bed, we were knackered.

    Unfortunately, between the painful lugging of my bag around and the boring train ride, I didn't take many photos. So there is just the one to share for today.
    Read more