Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Madeira

    January 20 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    My plans for Madeira had been somewhat squandered by the fact that my Australian driver's license had expired about a month ago. A lot of the rental car companies I contacted said that I would not be able to rent a car without a physical, up-to-date license. This was very sad, but I wasn't going to let it stop me. I woke up early, got the bus to the airport, got on my flight to Lisbon, waited around for a couple of hours, and then boarded to Madeira. The flight leaving Geneva provided one of the most beautiful scenes I had ever seen. I was glued to the window as we flew away from Lake Leman, over the alps, and toward the Mediterranean. Eventually, though, I did arrive in Madeira, and I had to taxi to my accommodation in Porto da Cruz. It is a small, coastal town, but it is supposed to be very beautiful and a great hostel. After some time, I arrived, dropped off my things, and went to the main area where I met a German and a Dutch girl. They also did not have a car but were mostly staying around the hostel, doing surfing lessons and local walks. So I was once again on my own to try and find a car.Read more