Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Ennejma Ezzahra Palace

    February 13 in Tunisia ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    Today I found myself once again exploring the parts of Sidi Bou Said that I missed during my first two expeditions. This time, I spent time in the markets, enjoying a coffee with a view, seeing the former royal palace, and listening to the traditional Tunisian music. The result was some of the most beautiful parts of the city, and it reassured me of why I came to Tunisia. The Mediterranean was looking beautifully blue, cresting the perfect backdrop for my photos. My day began with the markets, and despite having to fight off some pushy store owners, it was still cool to see what they sold. I then sat and enjoyed a coffee while embracing the Sidi Bou Said. It was a great day for exactly this. Eventually, though, I began my journey to the main attraction, the palace. Luckily for me, it was literally empty. There were times I was sure I had explored too far and left the path, but this was simply just the fact that the whole site was empty. It made for a better experience, I think. The extravagant lifestyle that these people lived so many years ago is hard to believe. The distribution of wealth must have been horrific. The palace went on and on. Room after room of seemingly just endless grandure. Even by today's standards, it was beautiful and had a magnificent patio and view across the Mediterranean. By the time this was done, it was afternoon, and I retired to my hotel room to chill.Read more