Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 22

    Eco tour

    15 maart, Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    We woke up, and I nursed a minor hangover, likely the result of the tequila and going to bed before the alcohol had fully absorbed into my body, before getting breakfast. I enjoyed a very nice smoothie bowl. We then were surprisingly productive and booked a bunch more of our Peru trip before retiring to the bed to try and secure a little nap. But, as we were in a topical jungle, it was fucking hot. This meant the nap was sweaty and I woke up feeling worse than when I went to bed. I think the last week or so was getting the better of me and I was starting to become run down. Nonetheless we had an eco tour to complete. This was a 4 hour river cruise where we would spot camen, monkeys and enjoy a beer at sunrise. In the end we probably spent more time on the beach then on the river, but there was a nice little bar where we could buy beers and the guides told cool stories about the indigenous people and the local myths and legends. When we spotted our first camen he stopped the boat and we got out to pursue the animal on foot. We were shocked but we chased it for a while before giving up, assuming he had run back into his little den under the riverbank. We saw howler monkeys and lots of cool birds. On our way back, when it was now night, we once again attempted to spot some camen getting up close and personal with them. He even managed to catch a baby with his hands, allowing us to get a good picture. It was actually kind of cute too. This ended our tour and we eventually got driven back to the hostel. Unfortunately, by now I was very run down and sick. Because we got back late, we had a pizza and a couple drinks before just going to bed to get some rest. Despite being incredibly loud, the sickness meant I slept perfectly fine and recovered quite well. It was a shame to waste a night in a very cool hostel but I knew if I pushed it I would have ended up much sicker. It was the right move but a shame nonetheless.Meer informatie