Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 10: more Yosemite and San Francisco!

    August 23, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    This morning, I enjoyed a bit of a slower start (apparently sleeping until 7 is late for me these day), and then drove to Yosemite NP/Mariposa grove again. Having missed the coastal redwoods in Oregon due to the fires, I looked forward to seeing the Giant Sequoias of Mariposa Grove. Fun fact: Mariposa Grove was the first site in the US to be declared a protected area because of its natural beauty - and thus National Parks became a thing. And the trees really are beautiful! And ginormous.

    After lunch, I took off in north-western direction towards San Francisco! I’ve wanted to see and feel this city for the longest time, so I was super happy to finally arrive here. My hostel has a great location at Fisherman’s Warf, overlooking the bay, Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. But honestly, I came here bc it’s the only hostel in SF with free parking 😂 priorities!! The sunset at the beach was so beautiful! And I touched the Pacific Ocean for the first time - at least this side of it. It was cold!

    Then, travelling to the location by cable car, I went to a hostel-organised pub crawl with a rock-paper-scissor competition. I lost every single game. 😡 Good night.
    Read more