Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day #2, Choctaw, OK

    May 5, 2018 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 72 °F

    Day 2:

    Yesterday we left Albuquerque and started a whole new chapter of our lives. I had truly expected that it would feel scary to be homeless, but I quickly realized we weren't homeless--we have a very comfortable home. And we get to drive it to wherever we go!

    Friday we packed up all the outside bins and stuff and put them in the RV or in the car, then we had a fairly easy drive to Amarillo. Once there we got hooked up, returned the outside bins outside and ordered an Uber to Saltgrass Steakhouse. Unfortunately I lost a black polyester sweater that I bought cheaply at the Aloha Stadium Flea Market in 2006. I have always loved it, but Uber charges $15 for returning a lost item--heck, it didn't cost that much when I bought it! One of the things I have learned as I have aged is that wasting emotional energy in getting upset about pretty much anything is exactly that: a waste!

    This morning, the task was even easier because we developed a system! The drive to Oklahoma City was pleasant and only about 4 hrs. Which is a good thing since by the time we got here, Herb's left shoulder and arm were in agony. Fortunately we have 7 days to rest his shoulder.

    Driving toward Amarillo, the country was all pretty much desert, but I was amazed to find Oklahoma really looks a lot like North Texas (I know, Duh!, right?). It's pretty country--grassland and some really pretty trees. The campground here is really pretty. Lots of shade trees and friendly folk. Herb's new computer was waiting when we got here. My new bluetooth headset arrived too. Only problem was it wasn't bluetooth--I hate when I so that. But, WTH, I ordered it through Fry's and it was free shipping  back.

    One of the things that was a pleasant surprise is how well the dogs have traveled. We are all developing a daily rhythm that stays the same no matter where we are. Stay tuned..
    Read more