Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Last dinner in firenze @ t. Il barrino..

    June 22, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    .. and oh my God did we do it right. We start with the traditional Tuscan appetizer platter... Which turned out to be a ton of things each more delicious than the last. Pea souffle, pate and tomato bruschetta, fried zucchini flowers and ricotta, a sliced meat plate, and an incredible cucumber and tomato salad that makes mine look like child's play.

    Then as if that weren't enough, Lizzie got a veal steak with truffle and I got a steak steak with balsamic glaze and a side salad. Neither was on the menu - Lizzie's was the daily special and the chef created mine when I ordered a steak designed to serve 2 by accident. That would have been 1 kilogram - way to much for me. The resulting filet was tender, juicy, perfectly cooked, and delicious. Lizzie's truffle we also scrumptious; in her words: "uhhhmmm.. yeah. I don't even know. Mouth watering veal and spinach that made me feel like I shouldn't ever cook spinach again, since it won't compare."

    The owner was at our table along with our server, and helped us order, and her daughter operated the till. Family owned and operated by friendly people, delicious and creative meals, and the best tomatoes I've eaten in Italy.

    Finally we had the daily special cake, with Chantilly cream, fresh fruit, and chocolate caramel stripe goodness. Practically had to roll us out the door.

    I am so sad we only discovered this place on our last day, everything was so good.
    Read more