Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Arrived Twin Falls, Idaho

    May 31, 2018 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 54 °F

    As Rosie gets me up at 6:00AM EDT (which is now 3:00AM PDT) we arrived Twin Falls at around 2:00 PDT. She's having eating issues (not eating) so I spent some time getting some things to help.... Chicken & rice (bland) are always successful.... So she's on her way back. She seems to shut down a bit when we travel.

    As I was leaving Cheyenne this morning at sunrise, I had a number of thoughts that I wanted to jot down as I considered them, so I made notes:

    •. As I entered I-80, I noticed something I haven't seen before on my GPS. It said "378 miles to next turn"...wow

    • As the sun rose, about 65 miles west of Cheyenne, there was a dead moose (yep, a MOOSE) on the side of the road, covered by vultures....who couldn't care less that they were being passed at 75-90mph...

    •. This country is incredibly beautiful, stunning in the long, uninhabited stretches....when you get to the towns, not so much...

    •. As I entered Utah, I was interested In signs announcing "Devil's Slide"...so I had to stop for pictures (below)...pretty amazing

    •. There are miles and miles of snow fences (6'-8' high), a hint of the magnitude of the winters.

    • I lost count of all the windmills...all hundreds of feet tall...

    •. Many exits included signs announcing "I-80 closed; exit here". I have a feeling it's for snow "events"

    •. Many over passes/bridges included wind socks and notices about high winds.... I want to come back in a winter event....
    Read more