Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Arrival Reflections

    June 1, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    •. Next time, I probably would add a day of rest after every other stop. Five (5) straight 600 mile days is tough on me and Rosie.

    • La Quinta Inns are "hit and miss"...I've seen really nice ones and really, really bad ones on this trip.
    Lexington, KY: Terrible, and I've seen bad..... Sue would've walked away as soon as the door was opened. It stunk.
    Kansas City, MO: A step up from Lexington...although a baby step.
    Cheyenne, WO: Almost walked away when I drove up, but inside it was much better than the previous two. Turned out to be acceptable.
    Twin Falls, ID: Beautiful.... What Sue and I were used to on previous travels. I'd stay there again.

    Time Zones: Never thought about how they'd affect Rosie. She has not adapted at all. This AM (in MDT, 2 hrs ahead of EDT) she awoke at 3:55 AM local..... which is 5:55 AM EDT...what she's used to... and once she's up, you're up... We're staying in this hotel (PDT) 3 nights so it'll be interesting if she starts to adjust. She's passed out right now at 6:45 PM local (9:45 EDT) so she's ready for a final, night walk and a "toothbrush" treat... Only problem is, the sun is still way high...

    Traveling with a pet:
    •. Rosie is a GREAT companion and very used to long days (not our first trip)
    •. She "shut's down" on eating when we travel. It's a problem but she seems to be OK. I've tried multiple foods but finally got her to eat some grilled chicken and white rice.... turns her nose up at all her old standards and even new foods. Doesn't even want to touch prebiotics...but I snuck some in...
    • I think she would really like to slow down a bit as well, however, she's such a "system" dog, it's almost like she anticipates the process. In the morning, once we get in the car and get started, she "assumes the position", looks around for a bit, stares at her bed and I put her in. She's out for the count until I stop for gas... Then, we walk, take a sip of water and start again.
    • Marking in hotels is really not an issue as long as she's walked before we go in and I make her sit while waiting for elevators or at front desks... Once in the room, she's really OK as well (except at Lexington; where I don't think she was the first (or the fifth)

    This picture was at 4:02 PDT
    Read more