Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Ya Can't Make This Stuff Up

    February 20, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 55 °F

    Took Rosie for half day at Camp Bow Wow. The facility is on the NW side of the city; the RV park is on the SW, about 35 mins away.

    On the way back to the RV, I stopped for lunch and some southern ribs.

    Very pleased to see their bourbon selections but amazed at who I met.

    The bartender, a late 20’s woman, asked where I was from. After I said “VIRGINIA”, she asked what part? I said “beach”... she smiled and said “so am I”...

    Further clarification and she also graduated from Kempsville High and her dad was a Navy Chief Petty Officer (lifer), all like me too.

    She’s moving back this weekend to marry her fiancée.

    I offered to connect her to managers of restaurant/bars that I knew were looking for employees and mentioned Ilgiardino‘ on Great Neck as they’re moving and growing.

    I gave her the managers name and amazingly enough, she knew him well, had trained under him at the beach location so I reconnected them.

    Amazing.

    On the way back, crossing over Charleston’s beautiful bridge, the fog layer was so low the towers were obscured.
    Read more