Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Arrived Williston, ND

    July 12, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Just an overnight stop after my normal 600+/- mile leg. Bozeman, Montana tomorrow. Then, I’ll do what I can to help the wedding process.

    Nice stop. This area is HUGE for oil people (not all fracking). I saw incredible sites for hundreds of miles drilling and fracking.

    Sat next to an oil rig guy at dinner. He came up from LA a year ago. Loves it here. Interesting conversations, although he had no clue of the big picture of oil in the US… young guy, busy, with nothing to lose. But he told me the location of oil in this area-20,000’. Amazing.

    Since leaving MN, I started seeing rig’s right after crossing into ND. From the Continental Divide to here, massive amounts.

    According to this guy, it’s still the largest oil hit in the world (he said they drill wherever they need to and it’s always there)

    I saw hundreds of the mobile vehicle pictured. Not sure what it is. But there were fields and fields full of oil equipment… the farmers and cows seemed to cohabitate cooperatively.

    Sunset today is 9:53 PM MT. That’s 11:53 for me 🤪 Its 9:53 and the sky is still bright. The moon is setting faster than the sun.
    Read more