Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Hard Rocking

    May 18, 2018 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I thought it was probably best to leave this entry until this morning, not quite sure how it might have turned out if I’d done it when we got back from Hard Rock, might have made amusing reading, but then again.....
    So after resting up for a bit then going for coffee and a bit of shopping (Tanya got another bag) we dodged the rain and caught a tuktuk to the Hard Rock Cafe, arriving about 1930. Surprisingly Tanya didn’t make a bee line for the shop and instead we went straight to the restaurant where we grabbed a seat near the front of the stage and settled in to eat and wait for the band.
    Well we ordered burgers and beer (by the jug) and had a chat to the duty manager, who also used to work at the Siem Reap restaurant. Then as the band arrived they recognised Tanya and all came over to say hello, you could almost feel all the other customers and staff thinking how do they know them? Soon enough it was time for a second jug of beer and we were told we were getting it at happy hour prices, in fact we had happy hour for all of our visit, which might account for the fact that jugs of beer kept magically appearing every time I popped off to the toilet.
    Anyway the band were great, they kept dedicating songs to Tanya and her husband, or that bloke with her or him over there (I exaggerated but only a bit, I’m used to it by now though) We even enjoyed their practice session for tonight’s Latin night, which we will be giving a miss and some time shortly after midnight (closing time) and having shared five jugs of beer we left. Well I say having shared but I did notice that my glass seemed to be getting filled up by the staff and Tanya on a much more regular basis than hers, which is probably why I was just as tipsy as her. We managed to get a tuktuk back to the hotel but ended up having to give the driver directions as he didnt know where the hotel was, fortunately we are close to the Central Market which is a bit of a landmark.
    Not much in the way of photos or videos from last night I’m afraid as Tanya went for the live stream on Facebook option and we haven’t found a way to save them in such a way that I can add them to the blog. Will try to do better after tomorrow’s visit - well you didn’t think I’d get away with just one visit did you!
    Read more