Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

    May 15, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Today’s the day!!!! I was just a little bit excited walking to the front gates of universal. We had one hour early entry because we were staying at a universal resort which was awesome!!!!
    Straight to Diagon Alley we went!! It was magical!! I felt just like I was in the movie itself. It wasn’t too busy so we were able to get good photos without many people around.
    First stop Ollivanders to get myself the interactive wand and I chose Hermione’s. Then we headed off to Gringotts Escape before the lines got too long and that was fun! This is a similar ride to the castle one Mum, you would have enjoyed. The best part was we wore 3D glasses that looked like Quidditch goggles 🤗
    Then it was time to be a witch and cast some spells around Diagon Alley. It was so much fun and then I really felt like Hermione!!! I struggled to use it to begin with😂 but a fellow little witch (like 7 yrs old) helped me out and I was set for the day. It was so exciting and fun when it worked. Thanks Sheree for the heads up to do this first because once it got crowded it would have bee a pain to do & wait & not as much fun!
    We did some window shopping as we walked around. We would be back to spend our gallons. We couldn’t not get some butter beer ice cream though when we went past the ice cream shop - delicious!!

    Next it was time to board the Hogwarts Express to Hogsmeade. They had train conductors and everything, dressed the part. It was so much better than I thought it could be. The inside of the carriages was just like the mouse and the windows played videos so it was like you were travelling through the wizarding world.
    Time for some butter beer, but they didn’t have the frozen one at the cart so I was a bit disappointed. It wasn’t as nice as the slushy version. Some more spells were cast here at Hogsmeade and then it was time to go to Hogwarts. The castle ride was so much fun - the dementors still scary as last time and I knew they were coming 😂
    We ate lunch at The Hogs Head and I finally got my frozen butter beer 🥳🥳🥳🥳 Just as good as I remembered!

    Sadly it was time to leave Harry Potter for now. We thought we’d better check out the rest of the park for a bit. We went on Jurassic Park, King Kong - which we waited 40 minutes for and thought it was rubbish unfortunately, Spider-Man 3D which was great, Hulk Rollercoaster which I loved! And the Dr Doom drop ride.

    Back to Kings Cross Station to ride back to the other park. It was a different experience again (different videos) so glad we went both ways. We went on the Rock n Roll rollercoaster which went up and down the massive hill, pretty much straight up and that was scarier than going down. Also checked out Shrek 4D and the fast and furious ride.
    Then it was back to Diagon Alley to shop for school supplies 🙊 Had some pizza for dinner and then caught the Hogwarts Express for one final time back to hogsmeade for a bit more shopping and then the light show at 8:30. The light show on the Castle was AMAZING!! It made my night and completed the Harry Potter fun so well!
    As we made our way out of universal Sarah had one more thing to buy but I was done!!!! I had sore feet and was absolutely buggered!!!! But it was so worth it for a truly magical day!!!!
    Read more