Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Bad Wildbad

    June 5, 2018 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    Last day in the forest. Have loved it here. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for peace and quiet yet close enough to towns and cities. Landhaus Gruden - Sommerberg/Ba Wildbad. I booked through Home Away/VRBO but they told me it might have been a bit less to book on Booking.com. You pretty much do need a car but you could take the train to most places. But it is easy to drive here, the roads are good and wide enough. (unlike Italy)
    dWent for my last walk in the forest this AM. The area around here is pretty familiar by now so found some of my favorite spots and sat for awhile. Went to "town" for a quick salad lunch and then to the spa/baths. Palais Thermal - there are 2 large spas in town, my host said this was the best so that's where I went. The place was really beautiful. They have kept the Roman bath decor on the lower floor but the upper floors are very modern and amazing. I do not know how many pools they have - they were all over and I am not sure I found everything. They do have 9 saunas - both indoor and outdoor. All at different temperatures. They were all large - about 4-5 levels. The place was not at all crowded so had the 2 saunas I tried to my self. But the best spot to me was the upper Panoramic deck on the top - outside. Spectacular views of the forest on the top of the mountain and the funicular going up the mountain. The pool is an infinity pool on all side. Really something special. And it was also funny. I had read in one of the brochures that "garment-free" sunbathing is allowed on the top deck until evening so I was not sure what to expect. Much to my surprise for some time I found myself to be the only one wearing a bathing suit !! Whoever said Germans are a "staid" race needs to spend an afternoon here !! Life is full of new experiences.

    Dinner locally - Auerbahn - good trout and a lovely outdoor dining area.

    Miles: 5.9
    Read more