Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Geneva Day 14

    May 8, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ 68 °F

    A beautiful, sunny day after yesterday’s gray. Decided to walk some new areas today. Have restaurant recommendations from the gal who owns the condo where I am staying. Walked the “other” side of the lake today, so glad I did as it is a beautiful promenade the goes for a long ways. On my way to have lunch at one of her recommendations - a restaurant at Bains de Paquis. (Baths at Paquis, on the “beach”). Turns out that I was not the only one looking to eat there today! 😂. I was able to enjoy the walk out to the baths and see all the people enjoying the beautiful weather - even some swimming in the lake. However, the lines were very long and I passed on lunch there due to the crowds.

    I took the “long way” home, wandering thru parks, the European cities have so many of these nice spots around every turn. They almost always have some interesting sculptures and, of course, flowers. The monument below (2nd pic) is actually a mausoleum, built in honor of Charles II the Duke of Brunswick. He left 24 million francs to the City of Geneva upon his death in the late 1800’s and requested his mausoleum be built in a place of honor in Geneva. They picked a great spot with beautiful views of the Lake and the Jet de Eau.

    Wandered some more and then home for a nap. Out early evening to get some final things that I am running out of and sushi for dinner. Home to CNN and a catch up evening. Leaving here Wednesday.

    .
    Read more