Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    St. Wolfgang, Austria Day 44

    June 8, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    Another great weather day in the Austrian Lake District. I had decided yesterday to take the cog railway train to the top of the mountain right behind where I am staying. It is the steepest train 🚂 in Austria and goes up almost 6,000 feet in less than 4 miles! That is VERY steep. The station is only a couple blocks away from my home and arrived there around 11A. Train left on time and it is a 34 to 40 minute ride to the top. A spectacular ride. I had a window seat. At the top there is a hotel and several cafes. I wanted to hike a bit, and did, but it was a challenge as it is steep down and I knew I had to get back up. 😂. If I had someone else with me I would have hiked down to the middle train station , there were lots of other hikers, but common sense prevailed and I enjoyed the bit I did and then went to check out the rest on the area and, of course, have lunch.

    There are 2 pics below (12 and 13) that show the clouds coming in on a narrow ridge line with a sheer rock face. If you blow them up you can see hikers on that narrow ridge! That was NOT me. Amazing! Great lunch with Apple Strudel for desert. No need for dinner tonight.

    Back home for a “lie down” and then out for a walk along the lake before cocktail hour. Love the long days at this time of year, boaters everywhere - all kinds of water craft and lots of wildflowers. So lovely. A “get organized “ evening, leaving here tomorrow for a couple nights on another lake in Germany 🇩🇪 (8th country on this trip) on my way back to Geneva.
    Read more