Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Lost and confused

    May 11, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    I started the day out lazy and decided the heck with it and went to Rye. Or rather attempted to go. I got flat ass lost and was really getting angry but I pushed through it and was able to figure out how the f*** to get there. I'm glad I did it's a neat town. Very old. There was a castle built and eventually that castle was made into a prison. When the castle was originally built it had a seaside view. So it was very defensible and it was a perfect place for prison because if somebody got loose they'd have to swim. Well about a hundred years or so ago the sea receded by about 11 miles. So now it's smack in the middle of sheep pasture. I took a ton of pictures. There's also a very old church and cemetery with the stones so old that you can't read anything on them. Most of the inscribings are completely gone and flat. Absolutely beautiful though, and very quiet also surrounded by tutor buildings and homes. Really neat place to visit. I got home a lot easier than I was able to get there as seems to be my habit. I think I'm done with the day trips. I have more fun staying in town and just waiting for the tide anyway. I also had my first high tea today at a fun little cottage that I found in Rye. Can't quite figure out what one of the teacups was for. I thought about you tubing it but was too much of a wuss to do so in the middle of the restaurant. So I pretended I do it I was doing. I'm sure I look like a stupid yank. Oh well! The tea was yummy and the food was even better. And I got to sit at a cute little table with a bird asking for nibbles while I read a book. It was perfect.Read more