Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Sludge

    May 14, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I got up early to get to the morning tide. I went to my favorite mud larking spot which is in Woolrich. I had gone there on Wednesday or something so I was going to make an early start of it today. I arrived and the tide was really low. That was not the problem the problem was everything was covered in sludge. Green nasty sludge. I thought okay that's weird maybe I'll try further down. So I walked about a mile and tell I ran into a gal that was walking towards me covered in sludge. I asked her where the entrance was. And she told me not to bother cuz it was all mud and nastiness and she got stuck. She also looked at me funny because I didn't have my mud boots on. I slipped them over my normal shoes. So she thought I was absolutely nuts. I asked her why everything was covered in sludge today when it was fine earlier this week. She said that she's been told that when the boats don't run like on the weekends the sludge forms because the water isn't moving as much to clear off the rocks? She wasn't really sure but that was her best guess. I insisted that I needed to know where the entrance was she told me it's further down by the cannons. I'm thinking cannons? Okay I guess I can't miss those. And she was right, further down there were a couple cannons ready to shoot whatever might come up the river. I put my stuff on and went down into the sludge. It was absolutely disgusting! Be damned if I didn't get stuck. After a bit of panic I was able to get back to the stairs and said screw it. I stowed my stuff and went back home and waited for the next tide.Read more