Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Best find yet!

    May 16, 2022 in England ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    The day started out with some serious pain in my ears. Awful pressure. There's big storm front coming in is the only thing I can think of. My ears hurt pretty bad when I got off the plane when I landed but it was gone within 24 hours. Last night after I got out of the bath they were killing me to the point where it hurt to touch them. I was able to knock myself out and sleep through it, but I woke up and it was still pretty bad. Be damned if that was going to stop me though!

    I got up at 5:30 and went in to Woolrich which is my favorite spot to lark. It usually has tons of pottery. But will Rich was incredibly sludgy and gross again today. So I pretty much jogged back to the train station and went downtown into zone 1. If there were tons of people mud larking across from where I was looking of course. So I traced my way to where they are and when down into the shore. Pretty sure two of the authors of the book that I just bought were down there larking, neither one of them were very friendly and both of them made sure I had my license. These two guys think they're pretty hot stuff apparently. I wasn't very impressed but I did tell them that I had my license. I went on my way and stopped at a spot where a young gal was larking. I saw that she had some garnets set aside at which point I asked her where she found those and how she found those. She was so sweet! She got out of flashlight and showed me where and how to find garnets. She suggested that next time I come out to bring tweezers. She also said that a lot of times when you find the garnets you also find pins. And be damned if she didn't lead me to a spot where there was a s*** ton of garnets and pins. Pretty soon there was a group of about five women and one gentleman that were all in the same area looking for various things. One gal really wanted to find pins and I told her I found a spot with pins so she came over and looked with me and I found her a couple that I handed over. In turn she found a couple garnets and handed those over. Another gentleman wasn't having any luck looking for garnets and he said that's what he came down here to look for. I said I had a good spot for those so he came over and took over my spot while I went over to his spot. Everybody was so nice helping each other look for what their passion was. I had so much fun! It was absolutely wonderful I can't describe how awesome this morning was! The downside of this was that my knees are now literally black and blue because I didn't have any knee pads. And the pain in my ears was so bad I was starting to get nauseous so I had to bag it up earlier than I would have liked. But I found a handful of pins and garnets. I also found a piece of Roman glass and odds and ends of other things. But the garnets and pins were amazing and the company that I had will doing this was also wonderful. I'm just sorry that I was in so much pain that I had to come back to the apartment. I took some Ibuprofen and I've been trying to clear up the ears they don't hurt as bad right now. I'm really hoping that it'll subside by the evening so I can go back out for one more lark before I have to go to bed and get ready to come home! All in all it's been a wonderful trip!
    Read more