Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Serendipity

    July 27, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    I have always used travel as a means to regroup and reassess my next steps in life. One such trip in 2014 directly led to me formulating an ambitious and, frankly, ridiculous five year plan to get an overseas posting, and here I am in 2018, having just discovered that I’m being posted to Tokyo, heading off on another adventure.

    It’s funny - I have never been less prepared for a trip, but also never more relaxed. On top of this the months since I booked my flights have been a massive life altering blur, both personally and professionally. I have never believed in fate, but I can’t shake the feeling that it all just feels like it’s meant to be at a macro and micro level. I can’t wait to see where the next 6 weeks, 6 months and 3 years takes me. The improbable series of events and coincidences that have come together to make it all come together in the way it has is spooky, right down to the fact that if I’d booked my flights to leave any earlier I’d likely have missed the opportunity to be selected for a posting and any later would have required cancellations or significant changes to avoid conflicting with my predeployment.

    One thing is clear. The last 10 years of travel has given me so much and I would be a very different person without it. It has not just provided me with memories and experiences, but, in breaking routine, it has provided me with the space, freedom, confidence and perspective to make the impossible possible.
    Read more