Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Changing the Dream

    July 9, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 90 °F

    Well, it has been a rough few days. We have done nothing but drive and mood swing. Years of dreams and planning were tossed in the trash when I, totally out of the blue, announced I would not deal with the humidity. Surprise to me…absolutely crushing to him. The economic gains the southern states could afford us would allow us a much more fluid lifestyle. Extensive travel and further investments were taken off the table by heading back west.

    So needless to say, the heavy guilt I will carry for years to come had me either crying or VERY defensive! John was not outright blaming me, but I was finding it in everything he said or did. Plus…since I destroyed our master plan, we had no idea how to start over. We didn’t even know where we were headed. It did not make for a pleasant drive! I’m pretty sure we got divorced somewhere between Laramie & Soda Springs, WY!

    Thankfully, John brought it back home. When we stopped for the night he grabbed me with a huge hug and said, “We need to make this about us, Wherever we end up, we’ll be fine because we’re together.” (Which of course turned me into a blubbering idiot…again!)

    So after a much more cheery drive today, we are staying overnight in Burley, ID. We are at a harvest host location that is on the banks of the Snake River. Very pretty view. We enjoyed drinks and a steak dinner. Not a bad day. We will figure out what we are doing tomorrow, tomorrow.

    ** FYI: When we saw the gas prices steadily going up as we headed west, John started creating a Go Fund Me page. 😉
    Read more