Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Medical Center

    May 4, 2015, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☀️ 52 °F

    I have a cold so I went to the medical center onboard to assure myself that this is not pneumonia. The doc gave me some antihistamines that contain prednisone, and I already am feeling better. The medical center was busy with four critically ill patients, one being evacuated by helicopter this evening. No one is allowed on any of the open decks and no flash photography is permitted during the operation. The helicopter cannot land on the deck; there is no helipad. So the crews will lift the patient in a basket up to the helicopter from the basketball court. We actually saw the helicopter arrive and leave on the bridge-cam. Glenda and I dined alone tonight but happened to sit next to a couple who works for Princess Cruises in Alaska during the summer months. It was interesting to share tips and tricks about traveling abroad. We're looking forward to touring Southern Ireland tomorrow. We will land at Cobh, then go inland.Read more