Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Approaching Normandy

    May 6, 2015, English Channel ⋅ ⛅ 52 °F

    I awoke early and, went to breakfast, and took a few photos of a passing container ship. Glenda is still sick. The crew has advanced our U. K. passport check by half an hour. I guess bureaucrats must always find something to do to stay busy. After a light lunch of spaghetti, we got an ice cream cone at Swirls. We passed between Southampton and the beaches of Normandy, and I went up to the sky deck to take some photos just to remind me of D-Day on June 6, 1944. Since we had a late dinner planned, I brought back to the stateroom a fruit and cheese plate around 4:30 pm. We dressed for formal dinner and ate with Hal and Sharon Miles and two of their friends, Stella from Long Island and her daughter-in-law Jamie from Dallas, Texas. I photographed the group; our waiters, Nole and Leila; Vincent Paul and his companion Naomi Cornelius; and Lee and Sandy Patkus from Orlando. We went down to the piazza to watch the dropping of all the balloons. I wanted to photograph the event, but when one of the entertainers began to drag people out onto the dance floor, I decided it was time for me to leave. So we're ready for bed now. Glenda is feeling much better and we're looking for a good day in Amsterdam tomorrow.Read more