Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    The Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam

    May 7, 2015 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 52 °F

    On the bus from Rotterdam to Amsterdam our guide Bob gave an excellent introduction to Dutch history, language and culture. I was glad to see that my old friend Erasmus is still remembered in Rotterdam in the names of a bridge, a university, and a medical center. Since we were on our own in Amsterdam, he thoroughly described the map, or "plan" as he called it, of the city. Glenda and I dared to take the number 5 streetcar down to the Rijksmuseum, which we found with just a little bit of looking once we passed the National Palace. We found Vermeer, then saw in the hall of honor Rembrandt's large canvas called The Nightwatch. Large crowds surrounded all of the well known paintings, so I just took pictures of the crowd. It was enough for me just to be near the actual paintings made by the masters. Glenda, being a woman, and shorter than I, was able to move in closer to the painting of the Girl With the Pitcher to get a photo. I had already decided that I would resist the temptation to take a picture of a picture, at least on this trip. We looked around at the other sixteenth century art, and made our way out of the crowded building, which has recently been gloriously restored.Read more