Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Bruges

    May 8, 2015 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    I would place Bruges as among the three most beautiful cities I have ever seen, along with Venice and Dubrovnik. As soon as one enters the old part of the city, the senses as inundated by architecture, beauty, history and theology. Johann our guide was very restrained yet informative as we walked through the park to the Beguinage, and then into the city's historic center. Then a canal boat ride let us immerse ourselves in some of the sights he had shown us. We grabbed the buffet at Pizza Hut, and I enjoyed a dark Belgian beer. A chocolate shop offered every candy imaginable, and Glenda bought some chocolate-covered orange slices. Hal and Sharon Miles invited us to dinner (again) in the Crown Grill. I had filet mignon with all the trimmings, and ate more than I should have. I can hardly fit into my athletic tailored dress shirt any more. I will really have to reign in the appetite on the river cruise to come.Read more