Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Yosemite Peeps Out

    October 15, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 55 °F

    The rain slacked off today and we drove back into Yosemite Park to take more pictures. While we were at Glacier Point we met a professional photographer named Carlos who called himself the "Malibu Artist" on his webpage. He was shooting pictures for a Honda truck advertisement. He let me take a couple of shots with his Canon 5D Mark iv camera. I think I'm in love. Some of the girls wanted to strike an athletic pose when I photographed them, so they insisted that I shoot while they were in mid-air. I agreed. We have noticed quite a few young women, especially Chinese tourists, want to jump, to leap, or to be airborne when the shutter snaps. Quite a few of the Chinese women we saw being photographed on the Monterey Peninsula insisted on such posing. Today these girls were a safe distance away from the ledge that drops down to the canyon below, so I wasn't too concerned about taking the shot. However, one of the rangers told us that just last week a young Chinese girl doing a jumping pose for a photo stood too close to the edge. As the photo was being taken, she missed the edge and fell to her death.Read more