Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Bass Lake to St. George, Utah

    October 18, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    We spend all day driving from Bass Lake to St. George Utah. This section was the longest single leg of the trip.The drive took about eight hours plus another hour to stop for lunch. I was pleased when we went over Techachapi Pass, despite heavy traffic. My mind returned to our trip from Monterey to San Angelo, Texas in 1973 when our VW beetle barely had enough horsepower to get us over the pass. I had to plod along at about 25 miles per hour, and I had traffic backed up for a couple of miles. Lord only knows the new cuss words drivers invented to describe the idiot in the white Volkswagen. Our rental car today had plenty of power to spare. I was struck by the huge forest of windmills on the crest of the ridge. Half of them were not working. Ah! Such are the environmental joys of renewable energy. A forest of windmills! Indeed! Nothing like protecting the environment, even if you have to uglify the mountains to do so. A pine needle got caught under the windshield wiper, and when we drove up to speed it vibrated so fast that it hummed, yet every time we stopped for a break, I forgot to remove it. Finally, Glenda remembered, and took it out. She took me through Las Vegas Nevada just so I could see with the Strip looks like. The last 20 miles before arriving in St. George displayed some fantastic and awe-inspiring rock formations. The highway actually passes through some of them. Seeing them in the setting sun was truly magnificent.Read more