Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Saint Martin

    June 26, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    This morning Chuck and I worshipped at Westminster Abbey. We met two rather special people as we waited for the service to begin. Chuck will tell you about Natalia but I want to tell you about Martin. As we stood in line to enter the choir area for the 11:15 service, a little man carrying a ragged tote bag came up beside me. He asked me if we had churches like this one where I was from and I said that we had some beautiful churches in North Carolina but that the only church that came close to Westminster was Duke Chapel. He showed me where Stephen Hawking was buried in the church and pointed out other features he did not want me to miss. As we took our seats Martin was across from us. He walked up and saluted the altar, bowing three times just like the ministers did. He stayed completely focused on every detail of the service. After the service he again saluted the altar before leaving. As we were exiting, an usher stopped me and told me he had seen Martin talking to me. Martin attends every service at Westminster…..yes, all four on Sunday and every service during the week. He is a simple man who lives alone. He loves God and he loves his church. It is his sanctuary in a world that has not been kind to him. I quickly took Martin’s photo as he stayed seated at the end of the service. I never want to forget this humble devout servant of God. I hope one day Saint Martin will be among the statues in the Abbey and that there will be a place near Stephen Hawking for this devout man whom the world has forgotten but God has not .Read more