Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 7: Thank you to the ppl of Tanzania

    February 8, 2019 in Tanzania ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Before I start the next day, I would like to tell you a bit about the people of this beautiful country, Tanzania 🇹🇿

    This adventure would have not been possible if it wasn’t for Gaston (my Kili guide) and his wonderful team of porters and chefs (eight men in total).

    They have been so very kind and helpful to me throughout the entire trip 🙏

    All the time other tourists kept asking me whether I am climbing all alone and whether I would like to join their group. But I was never alone. I was always with nine great men.

    Their jobs are tough, the porters carry about 20kg when climbing the mountain and they have to be at camp before the tourists - wearing gear that is not exactly suitable for climbing one of the seven summits.

    Nevertheless, the guys always invited me to their tent for the meals, treated me with friendliness and respect, taught me some Swahili and about their life and culture.

    I have found something very valuable in the past few days: New friends and new perspectives on life 🙏

    And then at the hotel, the entire staff would surprise me at dinner with a local song and some cake 🍰 ... I couldn’t help but cry ... all in all a very emotional day 🙏

    I fell in love with this country, it’s scenery and it’s people 🇹🇿💛
    Read more