Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    I finally made it!!!

    June 3, 2016 in England ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    The flight to London wasn't too bad... I watched Whiskey Tango Foxtrot (Tina Fey - great movie, highly recommend), then pretty much slept the rest of the way. There were still some annoying and loud children, but nothing like the one from my first flights!
    We arrived at Heathrow at around 6.30pm, and after taxi-ing to the terminal, we disembarked and headed through to UK Border Control. It was such a breeze, and then off to pick up my bag. That is my least favourite part of travelling, waiting (and hoping) for your bag to have arrived safely with you. That sense of relief when you see it coming down the carousel is unlike anything else!
    Then that was it..! I followed the signs through to the Underground so I could catch a train into Central London. Bought myself an Oyster Card (another huge sense of relief when the travel money card works the first time) and headed down to the platform. I only had to wait 2 minutes for the next train, and it wasn't too packed. I experienced my first views of London out of the train windows. It is so stereotypical - all the houses look like Privet Drive, or like they're out of Mary Poppins! I spotted my first Red Double Decker Bus, and when I finally got to my stop (Russel Square) Jacinda was there to pick me up. The hotel (Mecure Bloomsbury London) was only a 2 minute walk from the station, so I chucked my bag in our room and we headed off to explore the area and grab a bite to eat. We hopped on a train to Piccadilly Circus (to be honest, it's just a poor man's Times Square haha) then down to Leicester Square. We checked out M&M World - very similar to the stores in NYC and Vegas. We then spotted a Burger King and couldn't resist - seeing as Hungry Jacks is where we first met and worked together, it seemed an appropriate first holiday meal together! Jacinda decided to be difficult and order a burger with different specifications - she then ended up waiting 15 minutes for her meal..! We decided to walk back to our hotel instead of catching the train to explore some more, and then got organised for tomorrow - Harry Potter Day!!!
    Read more