Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Poland Wins!

    June 13, 2016 in Poland ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Maybe it was because Poland had beaten Northern Ireland the night before in the Euro Cup, or maybe something else, but I woke up definitely feeling like Krakow had defeated me. I had boring plans for the morning of getting my washing done... But decided sleep was more important.
    I got a message from Carly at around quarter to 11 asking if I was around and wanted to get food... Probably a good plan, so I got up, showered and we headed across the road to the shopping mall. We passed a few people we knew, and I think everyone was feeling a little worse for wear. I grabbed a (massive) slice of pizza, which I couldn't finish... And then we headed in search of lip liner and a power adapter for Carly, and a memory card for my phone. It only took about half an hour and then we headed back to the hotel. Carly moved into my room for the night, and we got ready to head to the salt mines.
    It only took around 40 minutes to drive there, and we began our 2 hour walking tour. We entered the mines by walking down 54 flights of stairs... We were assured it was a lift back up at the end!
    We learnt about the history of the mine, how the miners used to work, and how at one point, horses were brought down into the mines and spent their entire lives down there, pulling barrels etc around, never seeing daylight again - so awful!
    There were some beautiful carvings and statues around the mines, and some absolutely gorgeous chapels and cathedrals. There were also a couple of glorious lakes inside, all salt water of course.
    By the end of the tour, we were all exhausted, so it was a pretty quiet ride back to the hotel.
    We had about an hour back at the hotel, before most people were heading for a parogi dinner. I opted out of this one and was heading to dinner with Arwen and Craig.
    Arwen is celiac, so we headed to a restaurant with a gluten friendly menu called Pod Baranem. The restaurant was a bit fancy, and the food was delicious!
    After dinner we decided to head in search of the castle area, and a dragon statue which breaths fire. We did a lap of the entire castle, and somehow managed to miss it... We didn't have enough time to keep searching, so we headed off to the main square, where we were meeting the rest of the group to head out for some more drinks. Tamara had organised for us to head to a bar, with a free shot on arrival for our group. I wasn't really feeling like going out, but you can't say no to free shots!
    The bar was ok, it was down in a bit of a dungeon, which I've found has been the case on a lot of bars around Europe.
    After our shot, there were a few of us who wanted to head home, so Tamara walked us back at around 11pm.
    I got back to the room and wrote some blogs, before heading to sleep around midnight.
    Read more